Call the police non-emergency line at 303.841.9800.What is the penalty for someone under the age of 21 who is caught possessing or consuming retail marijuana?
Penalties can range from a fine to a possible jail or prison sentence. Additionally, K-12 schools, universities and school districts may have disciplinary and expulsion policies for students caught with retail marijuana on school property. In Parker, those 18-21 caught possessing retail marijuana will face a civil penalty and not a criminal citation.Can I legally give or sell retail or medical marijuana in the Town of Parker?
No. It is illegal to sell both retail and medical marijuana to anyone in the Town of Parker.What should I do if I suspect or know my child has consumed marijuana?
Call 9-1-1 if you are worried about the health and safety of your child. You must be 21 and older to have or use retail marijuana and children should be kept away from retail marijuana at all times.What should I do if I suspect or know my pet has consumed marijuana?
Call a veterinarian. Pets should be kept away from marijuana at all times.Can I legally grow marijuana at home?
Medical marijuana can be grown by a person that is 18 years of age or older. Non-medical marijuana can be grown by a person that is 21 years of age or older. Both types of marijuana have to be cultivated in the manner provided by the Parker Municipal Code (Chapter 11.17 for medical marijuana and Chapter 11.18 for non-medical marijuana)How can Parker residents and visitors avoid exposure to public marijuana use?
It is illegal to consume medical or retail marijuana in public in the Town of Parker. If you see a violation in Parker, call the police non-emergency line at 303.841.9800.What are the health effects of using retail marijuana?
For information about the health impacts of marijuana use, please visit Colorado's Department of Public Health & Environment page on this topic.
You must be 21 and older to buy, possess or use retail marijuana. It is illegal to give or sell retail marijuana to minors.Where am I allowed to consume retail marijuana?
Retail marijuana is intended for private, personal use. Such use is only legal in certain locations not open or accessible to the public. It is illegal to display, consume or use retail or medical marijuana in any public place to include, but not limited to, public ways, streets, buildings, sidewalks, alleys, parking lots, shopping centers, places of business usually open to the general public.Can I consume marijuana in public?
No, it is illegal to consume marijuana, both retail and medical, in public.Can I possess retail marijuana? And how much?
This includes but is not limited to areas accessible to the public such as transportation facilities, schools, amusement/sporting/music venues, parks, playgrounds, sidewalks and roads and outdoor cafes. It is also illegal to smoke at indoor-but-public locations like bars, restaurants and common areas in buildings.
Since Amendment 64 went into effect in late 2012, adults 21 and older have been allowed to possess up to 1 ounce of retail marijuana.What are the consequences if I violate marijuana laws?
Penalties range from a fine to a possible jail or prison sentence. Colorado State Statutes and Parker Municipal Code spell out the specific penalties for various violations.
Schools, universities and employers are allowed to put in place their own disciplinary actions for marijuana-related infractions.Are the rules different for possession and consumption of edible marijuana than for marijuana that can be smoked?
No. Possession laws are the same for all retail marijuana types, and public consumption is always illegal, regardless of form.Can I have marijuana in my car?
Yes. Marijuana may be carried in cars but it may not be in an open container and cannot cross state boundaries. It is illegal to use or consume marijuana in a motor vehicle and it is illegal to drive under the influence of marijuana.Is there a DUI-like equivalent for driving under the influence of marijuana?
Yes. It is illegal to drive under the influence of marijuana and it can result in a DUI, just like alcohol. Anyone with 5 nanograms or more of delta 9-tetrahydrocannabinol (known as THC) per milliliter in whole blood (CRS 42-4-1301) while driving can be arrested for DUI. The consequences of DUI is dependent on the driver but they can include fines, jail time and a revoked license.Can I take marijuana through airport security or travel out of state with it?
No. It is illegal to take marijuana across state lines. DIA prohibits possession, use, display, and transfer of all marijuana on its property.Do the laws of Parker apply elsewhere?
Parker ordinances only apply within the Town of Parker. Please go to each city or county’s web site to determine specific marijuana sale and consumption laws.What are the health effects of using retail marijuana?
For information about the health impacts of retail marijuana use, please visit Colorado's Department of Public Health & Environment page on this topic.